Happy days when blogging works

I ve often moaned about my places in the blogging world  .But I was just thinking I m in a purple patch of blogging feeling on top of things and my lot in the world  .I feel as thou my interaction in the blogosphere is at its best  level since I started blogging over three years ago .Its much  easy to write a post letting steam off ,as  I am now struggling to write a positive post about my joy in blogging  .I think what I m trying to say is that after a number of years struggling to wonder where my voice and blog belonged in the grand scheme of things .I have decide maybe it belongs where I am at moment . A fair bit of content and taking part in great projects like Man Asian with Matt Lisa and Mark or my own shadow iffp with Gary Mark Lisa and Tony . Then another part is joining in thing like Lizzie and Caroline German Lit month ,Tony’s January in Japan.I think I wanted to be Fonz when I started blogging but I never was the cool kid at anything ,so I m happy being a Richie I want feel part of a family and I finally feel that I am part of the blogosphere .Anpother joy is the people I ve meet over last few years people like Mark ,Simon ,Rob my fellow bloggers ,Nikesh and the book trust folk ,Meike ,Maddy ,Henry ,Fiona and Beth from the world of publishing and of course Frank one of my favourite translators .All in All for a lad from  Chesterfield that start this as a project to do something in my own small way ,I feel I have .

So thanks to all that have stuck with me in lkast few years and here is to many more

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JoV
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 12:36:15

    Here’s for many years to come. I was never the popular kid too but as you get older, it probably doesn’t matter.

    Reply

  2. afictionhabit
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 12:37:28

    Really lovely! Glad you’re feeling so happy with your blogging right now! Sarah

    Reply

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 13:31:50

    Just be yourself Stu and write about what you love and what you want to write about – that’s all any of us bloggers can do, and just hope other people like what we’re doing!

    Reply

  4. farmlanebooks
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 16:08:38

    Yay! It is lovely to see you being so positive. Hopefully we’ll be able to meet one day too.

    Reply

  5. Heather
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 16:47:28

    HI Stu, you have opened my eyes a little further past books published in Canada and the US. For that I thank you.

    Reply

  6. Seamus Duggan
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 16:59:58

    Stuart, I think it’s fair to say that it’s people like you, full of enthusiasm and passion and also taking time to visit and comment in so many corners of the blogosphere (if it has corners), making it feel like a community. Thanks for that and I hope you continue to get so much back from what you give.

    Reply

  7. Alex in Leeds
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 21:56:29

    *grin* Glad to see you’re feeling a little more on-track. I love the shadow IFFP and Man Asian groups and you’re one of my go-to references for translated fiction. Maybe not very rock and roll but a solid reputation can be worth rather more.

    Reply

  8. Diane Challenor (@CynthiaBlue44)
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 23:02:09

    Love your blog. It’s on my list of favorites. Thanks for guiding me to interesting books. I look forward to more.

    Reply

  9. Travellin Penguin - Pam
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 00:33:42

    I am a big fan sitting down here in tiny Tasmania. I’ve only been blogging one year now, have few follows but having a great time. Love your posts. I learn so much from what you put up and have been inspired to read more than a few of the books you have discussed. Keep it up. I’d miss this blog if it wasn’t here. cheers mate.

    Reply

  10. Richard
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 01:59:32

    Stu, we have enough mutual friends in the book blogosphere that I can understand you feeling very happy about your surroundings right now. Anyway, just wanted to chime in with the others and say I’m glad you’re enjoying itself these days. Also, keep up the good work!

    Reply

  11. Tony
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 03:43:47

    Good to see you’re feeling chipper – long may it continue :)

    Reply

  12. Lisa Hill
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 07:40:52

    I was very pleased to see this post, Stu, we’ve been through thick and thin together and long may The Family prosper!

    Reply

  13. Caroline
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 08:12:14

    Most of what I could say has been said already. I’m glad you’re feeling good about blogging, glad that you are around. Your blog is unique.

    Reply

  14. Brian Joseph
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 11:01:07

    I totally agree with you. The blogging community and interactions, at least when it comes to so many of the blogs that we both visit, is intelligent, thought provoking, and most importantly warm. I have recently discovered your blog and it has quickly become one of my favorite places.

    I laughed at the Happy Days analogy!

    Reply

  15. Guy Savage
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 13:54:29

    Blogging can be a great hobby–on all sorts of subjects. We’re lucky to be alive and see this. Sometimes I think of past generations and how knowledge was much more inaccessible prior to the internet.

    Reply

  16. Sarah
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 20:25:35

    Lovely post on the joy of blogging.

    Reply

  17. creativepalabras
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 22:18:55

    I’m pleased to read about your enthusiasm .I’ve been starting blogging for a few months only, but I already understand what you mean, I like your blog and would like to add it to my list of favourite.

    Reply

  18. pburt
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 03:35:07

    I was telling a friend the other day that you are one of the bloggers I would like to meet. I so much enjoy your unique perspective and passion for things literary.

    Reply

  19. CFisher
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 19:00:49

    Weezer, what a fine choice of group to get over your joy, well, of everything! I think even the Fonz secretly envied Ritchie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,841 other followers

