That was the month that was January 2013 – a quarter million milestone

snowy treeWell the nights are starting to lighten its been a busy month here at Winston’s tower ,some how shocked how I managed to get 14 books read this month but a number where rather short .I had a number of night shifts and was off for the last five days of the month .I managed to have a little more time than normal to read .Any way favourite book of the month Train to Budapest by Dacia Marani ,which I shall review early next month ,other honorable mentions go to The eleven by Pierre Michon and the two Donald Antrim reissues I read .A good book finding month as many of you may know I tend to have tight book finances ,when it comes to what is available to spend sad to say I had to return to Amazon after nearly a year just because of cost and availability of the books I want for three books ,I hope in summer trips out to cities with Amanda will mean I can buy books in shops I want .But the other side of this is I am a huge second-hand buyer and this month saw me hit gold with a number of penguins a Roman Gary ,Andre Gide ,Henrich Boll and a Samuel Beckett novel .Which eased my conscious re using amazon as some of  these books  are out of print and will be reviewed on here which I hope will get people to find them all out as they are   all writers I feel the need to read and think other people should these are the ones that explain modern literature in France and Germany as they tend to inspire or have been read by most modern writers in these countries .So the month ahead well here at Winston towers two dates spring to mind ,the first is valentines day as a romantic at heart I’ve my book ready for the day and will be spending time myself with the darling Amanda .The other date in my diary is Amanda’s birthday which may not be so bookish as she isn’t a huge reader but sure we will have a lovely time and I ll get her some great gifts .For the blog I sit on the verge of a quarter million views in my stats sometime today or tomorrow I will pass that total so thanks to every one who visits on a regular or just once all welcome  great that you all come and visit the blog .The picture at the top was taken in the middle of the month out with Winston in the middle of the snow .

What was your favourite book last month ?

Plans for next ?

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 15:11:46

    Ooo Gide <3 I love Gide. Which book did you get?? Looks like you've got a nice month of reading and personal time ahead of you :)

    Reply

  2. Brian Joseph
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 18:23:06

    I have been looking at some of your posts Stu and your log is fantastic!

    I was once a big buyer of used books. Alas the number of used bookstores striking distance of my home has diminished. We still have one great one about 35 miles away. I also discovered e books about a year ago. Though many of the older more obscure titles that one can find used may never be available this way, many other older titles are free!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 02:36:49

      I used have a e reader it broke but hope to get a new one soon enjoyed looking round your blog after seeing your comments for a while on other blogs all the best stu

      Reply

  3. JoV
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 23:06:57

    Congratulations Stu. It’s a big milestone and hope you have a wonderful February.

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 11:59:03

    Congratulations on all the views Stu. Well deserved an glad you had a good reading month in Jan.

    Reply

  5. sophiecussen
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 16:44:25

    Okay, what’s your secret? How on earth do you manage to read 14 books in one month? That’s like nearly one every other day? I’m pleased if I manage 3! I’m trying to read my way through the Guardians top 1,000 books. I try and get as many as I can from the library but’s proving quite hard with some of the lesser known authors.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 02:42:44

      Yes the 1001 one has lot less well known writers and lot translations fa out of print after time . My secret blocks of reading I read for hour at a time most days and sometimes twice a day and also read my night shifts which I had a few this month all the best stu

      Reply

  6. WordsAndPeace
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 04:25:29

    I visited Hungary some years ago and was totally fascinated by its soul. Should read this book. See what was my favorite in January: http://wordsandpeace.com/2013/02/02/2013-january-wrap-up/

    Reply

  7. whisperinggums
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 06:32:20

    Congrats Stu … on the blog milestone and the reading achievement for January.

    My favourite book in January was Patrick White’s Happy Valley … an older book but I really enjoyed reading his first work. I also enjoyed the poetry book I read, Love procession by Suzanne Edgar.

    Reply

  8. creativepalabras
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 09:45:12

    I’m an Italian English/Spanish translator and teacher. It’s the first time I’ve read your blog and I like it very much. It has impressed me for your interest in translated books. It shows an admirable and broadminded attitude. I like reading and writing too. I’ve just started a blog where i like sharing my love for books and languages. I like reading foreign articles, books and blogs on this matter in English and Spanish (obviously, in Italian too) and would like to let know something interesting, new I read to other Italian readers who have not the possibility of reading in other languages. About the last book I read? Well I re-read a long tale by the Italian author Erri De Luca: “Non ora, non qui “(Not now, not here) a passionate declaration of love to a mother whose absence is deeply perceived. I would also suggest other novels by this author. Do you know him? thanks for your attention, you will be welecome to my blog: creativepalabras.altervista.org

    Reply

  9. parrish
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 14:23:01

    Blimey, stu, Blimey. Congrats. favourite books this month probably Lone Samurai; The Life of Miyamoto Musashi – William Scott Wilson, or the book I most enjoyed arguing with 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die – Peter Boxall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,323 other followers

