Happy New Year -this is a new year that was the old year

winston taken last new years day

Well it’s that time of year again New years day the time to make resolutions and plans for the coming year and also a chance  to look back and digest  how the last twelve months have gone  on the blog and reading wise for myself .

Last year was a strange one it felt for me  , I drifted in my blogging. But when I got my year-end report from wordpress I was surprised what I had done  and after reading Sue’s post .I thought well it was a busy year really and maybe I just relaxed as a blogger and gone with my natural flow .So highlights of last year was doing the two shadow juries the first was the man Asian one last January with Lisa in charge ,with matt ,sue ,mark and Fay .Then I took a leaf out Lisa’s book to start a shadow IFFP jury with Rob Lisa Mark Simon Tony and Gary .I loved doing both these and am at moment stuck in the middle of this years Shadow Man Asian jury .I also started Spanish Lit month with Richard to highlight Spanish language fiction from all round the world .That’s not to mention Henry Green week .I also loved joining Lizzie and Caroline in German lit month ,once again and the fact it brought a chance to  enjoyed a new chunk of Germanic literature .So in looking back on my year I did a lot really, made lots of new blogging friends and help promote fiction in translation which is the main aim of the blog these days.

So 2013 another year resolutions reading and blog wise ,I have debated doing a post a day and I know it be hard to keep up my job and life just isn’t able to support a post a day so my resolutions is to try to post a little more and maybe do 50 more post than last year which equates to a post every other day or so which seems achievable .I have previously tried to set reading totals but I m leaving them behind I feel my reading is at a constant level and pushing it to read more will a. spoil my enjoyment of books as I rush trough rather than saviour them ,b..do I really need to add load more books to the unreviewed pile (close to 60 books already on it ) .Another blog resolution is to try over next twelve months to clear pile of books I ve read but not covered on the blog so far ,hopefully doing a few more posts will even this out and cut the pile down .challenges I will be doing some more challenge of my own next year and joining in a few along the way I m sure I prefer month or week long  challenges to year-long ones hence I ve not signed up for any this time again .So my first challenge is Tony’s January in Japan I ve one book read and currently on my second book .

So a very happy new year to you one and all and may the year be a very bookish one for you .

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hill
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 16:36:19

    Yes, well, I look at the projects you’ve undertaken this year, and I think to myself, goodness me, that sounds like a very purposeful year in blogging, with some major achievements that are world-firsts! I couldn’t imagine trying to do a blog post every day…sometimes I do a few in a row when I’m on holidays but mostly I do 2-3 a week, and that’s only if I’ve read shorter books. There is no hope of me doing more than that while I’m still working full time.
    What you say about not rushing things is so true. Blogging isn’t a competition where we compare ourselves with others … I agree that the whole point is to enjoy the reading first, and the blogging arises because we want to talk about the book with other like-minded souls (with promoting our chosen speciality as a bonus).
    I also think that the number of books read is irrelevant. After all, some books are great big chunksters that take a long time to read and think about, and others are short, easy books that take less than a day. I only mentioned the number in my wrap-up of 2012 to bring out the point that I read so many really great books this year, it was almost impossible to choose a Best Of.
    I’m looking forward to my books in 2013. I’ve got an interesting not-too-big pile sent for review from my favourite publishers, my reading group has chosen some terrific titles for the year, and I’ve picked out some that are really begging to be read from my TBR. But I’ve got plenty of reading time left for the lucky find at the library, or the ones my book-blogging friends recommend during the year.
    Happy reading!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jan 01, 2013 @ 18:15:39

      Yes I used think every day was what I wanted but now do as much as I can fit in sometimes two posts like today other times two a week I think books have speed and some are very quick other very slow to get through and trying to reach a total be to hard for me I feel happy new year all the best stu

      Reply

  2. Lynne
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 17:21:52

    Happy New Year to you, Stu, and Lisa. I like your views about blogging very much. It’s the reading that matters and our impressions of what we’ve read. I hope to be more purposeful in doing that this year, and to catch up on the TBR mountains.

    Reply

  3. Vishy
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 19:14:56

    Happy New Year, Stu! Hope you have a wonderful year, both reading and otherwise, in 2013! I want to follow closely your IFFP shadow jury findings this year :) I want to keep an eye on this award from now on.

    Reply

  4. Gavin
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 20:23:54

    A very Happy New Year to you, Stu. I appreciate that you do so much for translated fiction and give your time to the shadow juries. I relaxed around my blog this past year as well and feel much less stress. It feels good.

    Reply

  5. Alex in Leeds
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 20:31:13

    Happy New Year Stu! I’ve made some goals and picked out a few challenges but you’re right about the numbers being secondary. I tried a bit of everything in 2012 but in 2013 I’d rather have more hits and a little less experimenting. I really am looking forward to seeing your reviews for January in Japan. :)

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jan 01, 2013 @ 20:34:50

      Hi Alex thanks happy new year I think blogging always a learning curve and its just finding niches I love a month focusing on one place also helps clear tbr as I tend buy for them all the best stu

      Reply

  6. whisperinggums
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 21:41:11

    Congratulations on a good year Stu. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you better this year. I agree re not setting reading targets. I don’t do that as a rule … I would like to find time to read more but I’m a bit of a dilettante who gets called in multiple directions by multiple people! As for blogging, don’t feel controlled by your target … Main goal should be to live and read NOT read, blog and live! All the best for 2013 … See you round the traps!

    Reply

  7. Sarah
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 10:48:55

    I love with picture of Winston! Happy new year Stu and looking forward to your reviews in 2013.

    Reply

  8. Bina
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 13:29:46

    A very happy new year to you, too, Stu! Hope you get to read lots of fantastic books in 2013 :)

    Reply

  9. Chinoiseries
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 16:14:45

    You sure had a very diverse reading year, Stu. I’m glad that you are still here, blogging about translated books and more :) A very happy 2013 to you and your loved ones!

    Reply

  10. Max Cairnduff
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 01:38:47

    Happy New Year Stu! I’m looking forward to getting some pointers to new authors from you in 2013.

    Reply

  11. Anbolyn Potter (@anbolynp)
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 01:59:25

    Happy New Year, Stu! All the best for 2013!

    Reply

  12. amanda
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 03:55:07

    Happy New Year, Stu! I hope you have an excellent reading (and blogging) 2013–I look forward to learning about more books in translation from you. (And maybe this year I’ll finally read one or two of your recommendations!)

    Reply

  13. www.acommonreader.org
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 18:36:13

    Fascinating! You have much to be proud of Stu. I wish you all the best for 2013 and much happy reading throughout the year

    Reply

  14. farmlanebooks
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 20:36:44

    Congratulations for all that you’ve achieved in 2012! I hope that 2013 is just as fruitful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,323 other followers

