Humbooks my choices for Sue

humbook1

I nearly missed Emma and Guys  Humbook post and thus missed chance to join in the virtually gift books to a partner for Christmas .So when I managed to get in and was chosen to be partner with Sue from whispering Gums , who I got to know via last year’s Shadow Man Asian . So one of my choices is one I think she will love and the other is one I d like to see her view on it,because when I read it I loved it and now planning a reread so be great to compare notes  .

faces in the crowd

Faces in the crowd by Valeria Luiselli -

this is the choice I feel Sue will love  ,like I did when I read it earlier this year .It is short novella from the up and coming female Mexican writer ,A women now back in Mexico looks back on her time in New York and the fact she was working on a paper on an earlier Mexican poet ,his and her worlds blur as she starts to see him as she heads round New York .Wonderfully poetic and one I feel Sue will love she doesn’t do many translated book but I feel this is one she will really get and I know she tends to read more female writers so this is great choice .

a dead man in deptford

A Dead man in Deptford by Anthony Burgess -

I love his works and the fact that Vintage have just reissued a number of his books including this one , seemed a  great excuse to virtual gift it to  Sue as she  seems to read a few historic fiction novel than myself and this is in that style but the imagine life of Christopher Marlowe as a spy ,I really felt he capture Marlowe as a man trying to keep alive .I read this one when it came out it,sadly  was one of Burgess last novels ,I also have another  motive through gifting this to Sue ,but more about that at another time .

What books have you got for Christmas ?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whisperinggums
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:58:24

    Great gifts Stu … both sound really interesting. I’m fascinated by the female Mexican writer (as you knew I would be – it ticks off three loves of mine – women writers, central and south American writing, and novellas …). And the Burgess is an intriguing choice … Thanks Stu … I’ll d my best to read them in not too long a time.

    Reply

  2. whisperinggums
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:29:17

    PS I have now ordered the first one for my kindle …

    Reply

  3. Guy Savage
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 15:47:21

    I’m a Burgess fan too. One Hand Clapping is a favourite. No books for Xmas… except for the virtual exchange.

    Reply

  4. Parrish
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 17:07:31

    Love Burgess especially Nothing like the sun & the one you mentioned. My book haul this Xmas has been 1001 books you must read before you die, Through the language glass(why the world looks different in other languages),The Letter killers club, The 100 yr old man who climbed out of the window & the A-Z of Whisky. Although I’ve an Amazon gift card that will go on more books. What did you get?
    Ps best wishes on this day & those yet to come.

    Reply

  5. Lisa Hill
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 20:20:03

    Happy Christmas Stu, I hope you had a great day. These are great choices for Sue, I especially like the sound of that novella.
    I loved this Humbook Christmas because I hardly ever get given books. My family and friends take one look at my bulging shelves and decide that it’s too hard to find one I haven’t got. (Except my son always gives me the latest James Halliday Wine Companion, which is my bible when it comes to buying wine to cellar).
    So my Humbooks are the only ones I received – and Tony, Emma and Guy have chosen lovely books for me, I can’t wait till they arrive.

    Reply

  6. Emma
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 20:30:15

    Hi Stu,

    Your choices are interesting, I’m intrigued by the Mexican writer. I have to check if I can find it in French.

    I didn’t get any other books than the ones Guy picked for me and Lisa’s choice. Nobody dares to buy me books anymore…

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Highlights of 2012: Blogging and the Reading Life « Whispering Gums
  8. Trackback: Valeria Luiselli, Faces in the crowd (Review) « Whispering Gums

Leave a Reply

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,322 other followers

