My books of the Year 2012

where tigers are at home

Well I was lucky enough to be asked to name five but actually got ten books for Booktrust Translated fiction Blog so if you click over there .You can see my main choices ,but here are some others .

Honourable mentions for fiction -

When picking the books for the  Translated fiction list I tried to stick with certain places and countries thus two books I loved I didn’t mention there they are -

the flying creatures of fra angelico

The flying creatures of Fra Angelico by Antonio Tabucchi -a clever collection of quirky stories and fictional letters from the late Italian writer .

Azazeel-Cover

Azazeel By Youssef Ziedan – A Coptic monk struggles with his consciousness as he works on some scripts in 5th century Egypt .

Best non fiction in translation -

Journey_to_nowhere

A journey to Nowhere by Jean Paul Kaufmann -A man journey to Latvia to discover the long-lost country of Courland a small but important country in its time .

Honorable mention – brother mendels perfect horse by Frank westermann

Best memoir in translation -

Lanzmann  the patagonian hare

The Patagonian  Hare by Claude Lanzmann Editor of Les Temps Modernes Sartre’s famous  lit mag ,resistance fighter in world war two, oh and he made the film Shoah as well .

Honourable  mention fictional memoir  -  A Death in the Family By Karl Ove Knausgaard

Well that’s my year .

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Simon T
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 23:38:47

    What a varied list!
    I’ve read a fair few books in translation this year – nothing near 100, of course – and my favourite is, as almost every year, by Tove Jansson.

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 02:12:58

    One of these days I will read one of your recommended books. This year I bought a few, but have fallen way behind in my reading. I do know i’ll enjoy then once I get to them. Thanks for all your comments and recommendations throughout the year.

    Reply

  3. Parrish
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 06:34:26

    Have read some of these & have a couple sat on my shelves. Will be attempting to reduce shelf pile next year ;-)

    Reply

  4. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 08:53:56

    None read. You do great. I tried to read one translation a month but couldn’t sustain it.

    Reply

  5. Seamus Duggan
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 09:16:13

    Lots of interesting books here, Stu. A few I’ll be trying to get into my reading schedule.

    Reply

  6. markbooks
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 09:23:09

    Nice to see Azazeel get a mention! Good selection Stu…

    Reply

  7. farmlanebooks
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 13:03:24

    Azazeel doesn’t sound like my sort of thing, but I keep seeing it mentioned and so may have to give it a try. Great list!

    Reply

  8. Bellezza
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 14:54:39

    All are new to me, all seem incredibly enriching to one’s reading life. You expand my horizons so much, Stu! xo

    Reply

  9. Gavin
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 14:27:53

    Wonderful lists, Stu. I will get around to reading some of them eventually! Have a joy filled holiday season!

    Reply

  10. Rise
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 02:19:29

    As usual a minefield of great recommendations. I like the variety of your translation choices!

    Reply

  11. acommonreaderuk
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 08:25:43

    No-one could accuse you of sticking to the mainstream could they – a fascinating list which shows a highly sophisticated mind!

    Have a wonderful Christmas and thanks for your visits to my blog over the last year

    Reply

  12. Caroline
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 13:30:14

    A very interesting list. We both got a Tabucchi on our lists. Apart from that I haven’t read a lot of non-English books this year and am leaning heavy towards genre. That can change next year again.

    Reply

  13. WordsAndPeace
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 15:45:21

    thanks for your fascinating list of titles that for sure we don’t often see.
    here is my year, with pies and charts: http://wordsandpeace.com/2013/01/03/year-of-reading-2012/

    Reply

  14. Vishy
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 12:13:01

    Wonderful favourites list, Stu! ‘Azazeel’ looks like a fascinating book! I am intrigued by the name of the author Jean-Paul Kauffmann. I thought that Jean-Paul was French (or Belgian) while Kauffmann looks German – really intriguing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,488 other followers

