Shadow Man Asian Jury 2012

smalp2012-2

I was pleased to be ask by this years Chair to join the 2012 edition of the shadow Man Asian prize  By Matthew and to join again Lisa and Mark as fellow jurors for a second year so today saw the longlist for the 2012 prize announced .

  1. Goat Days – Benyamin (India) I m download the ebook of this from Ibooks to read .
  2. Between Clay and Dust - Musharraf Ali Farooqi (Pakistan) I contacted Musharraf direct from his website and he has kindly sent me a pdf of this book to read .
  3. Another Country – Anjali Joseph (India) I have ordered this from my libary to read .
  4. The Briefcase – Hiromi Kawakami (Japan) not got this one yet .
  5. Thinner Than Skin - Uzma Aslam Khan (Pakistan) not got this one yet either 
  6. Ru - Kim Thúy (Vietnam / Canada*) I m downloading the ebook from ibooks for this .
  7. Black Flower – Young-Ha Kim (South Korea) I m waiting to hear for the us publisher about this one.
  8. Island of a Thousand Mirrors - Nayomi Munaweera (Sri Lanka) I have been sent a pdf by the Sri lankan publisher .
  9. Silent House - Orhan Pamuk (Turkey) (That’s one I’ve got on my TBR)
  10. Honour - Elif Shafak (Turkey) I ve picked this up from my local library today and have already started it .
  11. Northern Girls - Sheng Keyi (China) no luck in getting this one yet .
  12. The Garden of Evening Mists - Tan Twan Eng (Malaysia) I have already read and reviewed this one 
  13. The Road To Urbino – Roma Tearne (Sri Lanka / U.K.*) I ve order this one from the libary .
  14. Narcopolis - Jeet Thayil (India) I ve picked this one up from Chesterfield’s main library this afternoon .I had it out when it was on the booker longlist but never got to it so will read it this time .
  15. The Bathing Women – Tie Ning (China) I m downloading this from Ibooks .

So as you see I ve  been busy trying to get my hands on as many as possible today  .Many thanks to the publishers and writer from outside the uk who kindly sent me pdf of there books to cover .

What do you think of the shortlist ?

Have you read any ?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JoV
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 22:29:20

    This is an amazing list Stu. Do you know if I can get an ebook copy from ibook as well? I’m a bit behind in technology here and wonder if you have to buy from ibook to be able to download them?

    Reply

  2. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 14:49:24

    you guys do great work. You’re great readers.

    Reply

  3. kissacloud
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 16:25:05

    I have not read any one of these but looking forward very much to your thoughts.

    Reply

  4. Parrish
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 20:55:58

    blimey that’s some list, will definitely check out a few of the titles listed

    Reply

  5. acommonreaderuk
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 08:05:08

    What a challenge to read all those! I can’t imagine reading to order like that but it’s obviously something you’ve done before. The Garden of E.M. is the only one I own and I’ll be reading it soon

    Reply

  6. Mel u
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 06:51:12

    Certainly a great list. I have read only Narcopolis, which I really enjoyed.

    Reply

  7. markbooks
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 19:58:01

    So far, so good…!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,329 other followers

