German Lit Month

I wasn’t overly keen to join the german lit challenge that has been organized by Marcel of Lizzy’s  literary life and Caroline of beauty is a sleeping cat I read a lot of germanic literature as it is one of my favourite areas of translated fiction but I m notoriously bad a challenges but I ve pulled my socks up and got the planning head on as Worzel Gummidge would have said so here is what has been read ready and what is waiting to be read -

 

Read 

So here are books read for german lit month so far -

Homo Faber by Max Frisch – one mans life summed up whilst he is stuck in the desert .

Visitation – Jenny Erpenbeck – this was iffp shortlist was one I didn’t review at time have read since but not reviewed so will do next month a village told in fable like style .

Correction – Thomas Bernhard .Bernhard was the best post war german writer this is about a man building a  cone in a woods but about more than it seems !

The wall jumper – Peter Schneider Set in time of berlin wall a journalistic style book about people who tried to cross the wall .

Jarmilla -Ernst Weiss  Stefan Zweig’s best friend a love triangle in a rural town in bohemia in the 30’s

Maybe this time -Alois Hotsching tales of the unexpected ,weird going ons a very unusual short story collection .

not pictured but read

Nadirs – Herta Muller her debut collection ,family life and the horrors of communism

Robert Musil and Hans Fallada mini penguin classics from earlier this year .

To read 

Auto de fe by Elias Canetti – The story of Peter Kien from the Nobel winner he was Bulgarian but wrote in german

The case of sergeant Grischa by Arnold Zweig – Classic WW1 story with a anti-war message .quote on front caught my eye from J B Priestley “the greatest novel on a war theme … from any country ” sounds great .

The pigeon by Patrick Suskind – the reclusive german writer isn’t new to me but having just read perfume this tale partly inspired by the raven by Poe sounds like a great second book to read a man driven mad by a pigeon .

A perfect waiter by Alain Claude Sulzer I thought I d read a couple Swiss novels but looked at blog and hadn’t so picked this up set in mid 1930’s about a waiter in a hotel looked like a great choice .

Well that’s it so far I hope to get to library again this month for a few more so can try to get a couple more ready have some on my shelves to either reread or not read as well .

What are you reading for german lit month ?

Have you read any of these ?

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MJ
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 17:29:30

    I’ve read Visitation, and loved it. In fact, I wanted to tell everyone I knew about it, and thus the seed of an idea for a book blog!

    Reply

  2. Vishy
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 18:22:47

    Wonderful list, Stu! Your post is inspiring me to add more books to my ‘TBR’ list. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on ‘The Pigeon’. I want to read Alois Hotsching’s book. Have you read Pascal Mercier’s ‘Night Train to Lisbon’? Mercier is Swiss and this book is very beautiful.

    Reply

  3. Rikki
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 18:32:15

    Wow, you have been busy already.
    I read Visitation and didn’t like it. No, that’s not right, I liked the writing, but not the topic, so I chose to not finish.
    Hotschnig is on my TBR list for Novemeber.
    I loved Perfume, but haven’t read The pigeon.
    A perfect waiter, isn’t that something GLBT related? I vaguely remember having heard about it.

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Oct 11, 2011 @ 13:19:47

      It is glbt the perfect waiter I didn’t know when I picked it up but great to see it getting translated it is a wonderful read as well ,all the best stu

      Reply

  4. Caroline
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 19:10:11

    Wonderful list Stu, and wow to all the books you have already read and all those you are still planning on reading.
    I have read a few but by far not all of them. I got an Arnold Zweig somewhere but not this one, I need to have a closer look, I’m still compiling a list for next year’s Literature and War Readalong. I’m alos interested in the novel by Sulzer. Sounds interesting.
    Thanks a lot for participating and for the post.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: German Literature Month November 2011 – The Participants « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat
  6. Rise
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 03:58:32

    Great list, Stu. I also look forward to November German Lit Month.

    Reply

  7. parrish
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 08:14:31

    I’m still umming & arhhing about this one, although have a Zweig, a herta Muller, Hans fallada, bernhard & a collection of modern German poetry, so if I can free up some time I may pop in for a visit, as I’m a big fan of the country.

    Reply

  8. Tony
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 09:59:27

    That’s a fair start considering we’re not even half-way through October yet! Looking forward to reading your reviews :)

    Reply

  9. lizzysiddal
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 10:27:16

    Wow, Stu and wow again! Puts me to shame as I’ve not started anything yet. Actually, I’m still deciding what I’m going to be reading …. so many choices ….. so little time.

    Reply

  10. Heather
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 19:41:17

    I love the idea of challenges, but I take them too seriously and end up getting stressed about them. I prefer not to sign up for more than one or two, but enthusiasm gets the better of me. I do like checking in and reading other’s reviews.

    Reply

  11. farmlanebooks
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 11:23:06

    For someone not wanting to participate that is a lot of books! I look forward to seeing what you thing of them – especially The Pigeon – that sounds weird!

    Reply

  12. Gavin
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 13:03:47

    I was not planning on joining in but I have a copy of The Tin Drum sitting on one of my stacks. We’ll see if I actually read it in November! You have some great titles there, I would really like to read Bernhard and the The Wall Jumper.

    Reply

  13. Bina
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 20:21:26

    Oh I’m awful with challenges, hope you have fun with this one. Definitely read The Pigeon, it’s one of my favorite books in German :)

    Reply

  14. Louise
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 14:22:28

    I keep saying I’m going to do some challenges but never actually get round to it. I’m not sure a German month is one for me though. I have read Maybe This Time, it’s a lovely little collection but takes more time to thing about it than it does to read it.

    Reply

  15. Tom Cunliffe
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 07:10:07

    I think they’re all new to me actually, although occasionally I’ve read other books by the same authors (Bernhard for example). A great list which is well worth checking out

    Reply

  16. Matt Craig
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 19:48:29

    Thanks, Stu, for pointing out Patrick Suskind’s book. I’ve read Perfume and loved it, so I’ll have to track a copy down.

    Have you read Andrea Maria Schenkel? I read her first,The Murder Farm, and loved it. Very unusual crime told partly as a series of police reports and interviews. I’ve heard good things about Ice Cold (I suspect there might be something lost in translation, as the book’s main character is called Kalteis, which seems to have been translated literally) and Bunker, but have yet to read them.

    Can’t think of any other German authors off the top of my head, but no doubt half a dozen will occur to me as soon as I hit “Post” ;-)

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Oct 22, 2011 @ 10:04:49

      not heard of schenkel Matt but that sounds up my street I likle epistolary style novels ,I ll see if library has it ,I m like that put me on spot my mind goes blank ,all the best stu

      Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,592 other followers

