what a beauty -a pocket book

How lovely are the new Penguin Mini Modern classics ,Like the old penguin 60’s that were released for penguins 60th ,they slip neatly into a jacket pocket for use when ever you find a spare second ,although I have two book apps on my phones I find reading via phone hard at best of times so these new Minis will Keep me going for a good while as modern paperback sometimes are too big for a pocket of a casual coat .saying I don’t like my book apps I love my goodreads app great to just scan and go so to speak .

Do you always have a book with you ?

Do you use book apps on the phone ?

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dusky Literati
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 00:00:00

    I always have a book or two on me either print, my Kindle, or my iPhone.

    Reply

  2. amymckie
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 00:49:23

    Go somewhere WITHOUT a book?? Shock! I can’t even imagine :) I do also have my Kindle app on my phone.

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 01:31:07

    In the car I always have an audio books, and out of the car, there is always a book or two at hand.

    Reply

  4. Becky (Page Turners)
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 02:52:35

    So cute!!!!!

    I always have a book with me. Mostly i have a paper book but i also use ebook apps on my iphone so even if i don’t have a book I can always pull out my phone and read

    Reply

  5. Emily Jane
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 03:37:47

    Actually, I usually have TWO books with me at all times. I like having options! Paper books only :)

    Reply

  6. maphead
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 04:48:11

    I carry a sizable side-bag with me to work each day. In that bag are at least two books. I read a book on the bus to and from work each workday. Seldom am I ever without a book.

    Reply

  7. parrish
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 05:46:52

    I have a kindle app on my phone, also a PDF reader my bookdroid which is my record of books read ot TBR & links with Goodreads. I also carry the latest book I’m reading & normally a book of poetry in a large courier bag .

    Reply

  8. parrish
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 05:52:54

    OH! I FORGOT my notepad in which I record my impressions the notepad app on,my phone. I think that’s it (lol)

    Reply

  9. Lisa Hill
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 08:08:43

    Well…
    There’s always an audio book in the car.
    There’s always either the Kindle or a book in my handbag so that I’ve got something to read in the coffee shop.
    There’s always a book in the car, just in case I get stranded. (Just as well, because I had to drive home in flash floods tonight and nearly gave up in despair.)
    There’s some by the bed, in case I finish the one I’m reading and need another.
    There’s one by the computer in case things are too slow to load.
    There’s one on the coffee table in the sitting room in case the news is boring or the sport comes on.
    But, no, I don’t have one on my phone because I don’t know how to do that!
    Lisa

    Reply

  10. kimbofo
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 10:59:56

    Like the American Express ad says, I don’t leave home without one! ;-)

    Reply

  11. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 13:02:45

    Are they abridged versions or complete versions? thanks

    Reply

  12. Mae
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 15:12:16

    Oh, that looks great! I’m so in love with the titles and sleek covers. I can’t wait to get my hands on some.

    Reply

  13. Petty Witter
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 16:55:12

    Yes I always have a book with me. Too technical and anyway I much prefer a paper copy I’ve never used a book app.

    These little books are really handy, I was more than happy to get two free in our weekend newspapers.

    Reply

  14. Valerie
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 19:57:23

    I wonder how small the font is in those pocket books. Otherwise, I love the concept!

    I almost always have a book with me. When I don’t, I have several book and poetry apps on my iPhone (I do an occassional search for them, and then add them) to fall back on. But instead I seem to end up catching up on blog reading from my RSS app!

    Reply

  15. Max Cairnduff
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 21:13:51

    Do you always have a book with you ?

    Yes, it saves me being forced to read adverts, tube tickets or food wrappers. Sometimes it’s in Kindle or iPhone form, but always.

    Do you use book apps on the phone ?

    Yes, in fact I’ve read an entire book on my phone though it was a pretty accessible one.

    Valerie, poetry apps? Do tell.

    Reply

    • Valerie
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 16:12:18

      Max, here are some poetry apps I like:

      The Poetry Foundation

      Love Poems (from BeamItDown — they have several free literature apps)

      Poem Flow (by poets.org)

      but a caveat — for some poems, the formatting is off, compared to the original!

      Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 23:57:59

      I ve only read shorts on my phone not sure if I could do a novel but if it was a good book maybe ,all the best stu

      Reply

  16. Bina
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 21:36:05

    How great is that edition!? My only problem would be the print size :) I rarely or never read ebooks, and I always carry a book with me for my commute and waiting in line etc.

    Reply

  17. Frances
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 21:59:35

    Love the look of that pocket fit!

    Reply

  18. Max Cairnduff
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 20:27:35

    Thanks Valerie, much appreciated. Changing the format is a bit worrying but it’s nice to have a way to encounter poets I may not know (and there are so many I don’t know).

    Reply

  19. Amanda
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 16:37:57

    Those are adorable. :D

    Reply

  20. savidgereads
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 18:18:00

    I don’t have many book apps on my phone I have to say (I am a kindle hater and think it all stems from that to be honest lol) I do always have a book or two in my bag, or as when I got my Penguin Minis, in my jacket pocket just as you illustrated.

    Reply

  21. kiss a cloud
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 15:07:29

    I don’t use book apps on my phone, I don’t read well on any sort of screen. I find reading on paper more relaxing so reserve screen reading for blogs and such. But I do always have books on hand wherever I go. Doesn’t matter if they’re big or small. I know it’s harder for guys because you don’t carry bags. I always tote a big enough bag for my sons’ extra shirts and stuff, and any size of book will go in it. :)

    Reply

  22. chasing bawa
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 11:27:16

    I always have a book with me, sometimes two if I’m at the end of one (just to be safe!) I have an e-reader but keep forgetting to use it. And I’m thinking of getting an iphone soon (I’m such a luddite and very behind with the times) so may check out some apps although seeing how I am with my e-reader I doubt I’d use it much. But we shall see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,844 other followers

