The Italian Job

These are books for my Italian week which I ll be starting to read next week and posting week after and for the year-long books in Italy challenge Have a couple of other Italian Noir novels on way from Library so looking forward to spend time in Italy this month well at least in Books .The two I’m most nervous about are Foucault’s pendulum and if on a winter’s night a traveller .These two are meant to be challenging to say the least .I will also be doing an Italian cooking post about the food and wine I love from Italy .Also at end be talking about the translators and what they brought to the books .

So have you read any of these ?

What yopur favourite Italian dish ?

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily Jane
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 06:47:36

    I haven’t read any of these, but I can tell you that I had the best four cheese macaroni and cheese of my LIFE in Florence :) yum yum YUM I will never forget it!

    Reply

  2. JoV
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 08:51:52

    If I want to read something about from Italian writers I’ll come to you. That’s quite a lot of good ones there, but I would start with something from Eco. Enjoy the Italian week!

    Reply

  3. Nana Fredua-Agyeman
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 10:49:46

    Great reading Stu, would be reading your thoughts on these…

    Reply

  4. Louise
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 11:04:50

    You have inspired me to read my old copy of The Leopard, which I had not finished. Then I’d like to read Foucault’s Pendulum when you tackle it. Great stack of Italian books! I might add the Hollanders’ version of Dante’s Inferno, too.

    There are so many delicious Italian dishes, as well as gelato and wines. Recently I had the most wonderful ravioli with wild mushrooms and a tapenade sauce. Yum.

    Reply

  5. Ilaria
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 11:43:28

    oh well, don’t get me started on the food and wine….the italian food I miss the most is actually ice cream (just because I have to go quite a way to find a good one), and Barolo is my all-time favourite wine. not together.

    enjoy the books, they are very good ones and I’m interested to hear your thoughts on them!

    Reply

    • winstonsdad
      Jan 16, 2011 @ 12:59:33

      I grew up going to a real Itlian ice cream palour with my father every sunday the owner did translations for my father as he did some work in italy at the time ,and I love barolo as well although has to be a really special occasion to have it ,all the best stu

      Reply

  6. Eva
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 12:22:20

    I’ve read Foucoault’s Pendeulum and If on a winter’s night a traveller; loved them both! I’m looking forward to hearing more about the others. :)

    As a gluten intolerant person, risotto is my fave Italian dish. And pesto is my fave Italian flavour! :D

    Reply

  7. Sandra
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 17:59:18

    I’ve read most of Primo Levi’s books and loved them all. Foucault’s Pendulum is very detailed but I didn’t found it too difficult. I tried If On a Winter’s Night but couldn’t make sense of it, perhaps my mood was wrong for it at the time. I look forward to your thoughts on those you read.

    Reply

  8. parrish
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:44:05

    Read foucault’s pendulum a few years ago & thoroughly enjoyed it, just finished – if on a winters night, a traveller, and why has no one said how funny it is, or what a page turner, I Loved IT. At the moment I’m reading Umberto Eco’s ” Serendipities, language, & lunacy” although I do have another Calvino on my library pile.

    Reply

  9. maphead
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 01:20:43

    No I haven’t BUT you have inspired me to read the Italian novel Bread and Wine by Ignazio Silone. It’s been sitting on a shelf in my personal library for way too long a time. I should also read a little Calvino too while I’m at it. I loved Baron in the Trees and Invisible Cities was good too.

    Reply

  10. gaskella
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 22:00:29

    I read Foucault’s Pendulum when it first came out and remember enjoying it. Some other great choices in there too.

    My fave Italian dish is scaloppina di vitello al limone – Escalope of veal with lemon, or Bracciola – Veal chops Italian style.

    Reply

  11. Frances
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 15:33:20

    Only the Eco but this is a path I would like to read down soon. Looking forward to your posts.

    Reply

  12. Bellezza
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 00:48:20

    I joined the Italy read challenge as well, and I don’t blame you for feeling a bit squeamish about Foucault’s Pendulum. I started that novel several times, and I’ve abandoned it each time. I did love his Queen Loana, though, and I’m hoping to read In The Name of The Rose. I wish us luck! As to Italian food, I suppose I love the gelato (ice cream) and cappuccinos the best. Aren’t those foods? :)

    Reply

  13. Andreas Moser
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 18:56:34

    “The Wine-Dark Sea” by Leonardo Sciascia has some brilliant stories: http://andreasmoser.wordpress.com/2013/12/15/book-review-the-wine-dark-sea-by-leonardo-sciascia/ He is a master of short-story writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,326 other followers

