WINSTONS COFFEE AND MUFFINS

Well at home today it is coffee and chocolate brioche today ,well another busy week here at wonstons towers ,I read my first graphic novel for a very long time last night .well there are a couple of bits of news .

NEWS -

Earlier this year Amazon announced that it was starting it’s on translation press ,called amazon crossing to publish their own books  .well this week there was a press release announcing the first titles in the range .These include titles from Germany ,Argentina ,China and Ukraine here is there press release

also PEN in America announced their prizes winners for 2010 ,the book in translation prize winner was Wonder by Hugo Claus trans Michael Henry Heim ,I read this Belgian classic earlier this year ,here is my review also some more info on the translator from earlier this year including A video of him talking about wonder .

NEW BOOKS -

Well I had two books arrive this week ,after getting a e -mail from Malcolm at Oxygen books I received their city lit books for Berlin and Amsterdam ,I have spent time in both cities ,so am hugely looking forward to these anthologies of writing by various well-known writers and a few celebs about the cities and their history .

HOW HAS YOUR WEEK BEEN ?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iris
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 11:10:14

    Oh, that’s an interesting concept “city lit”!

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 17:11:28

    I always like seeing what others receive in the mail. I am kind of hoping not to receive anything for a while as I have too many arcs to read at the moment. I have designed October ARC month and hope to read at least 5 and get those reviews posted.

    Reply

  3. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 18:36:08

    Thank you for introducing me to Amazon crossing. I saw your tweet about it and contacted them. They have agreed to send me the Chinese book, so I am very happy about that. Thanks again :-)

    Reply

  4. amymckie
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 15:16:00

    I hadn’t heard of the Amazon translations, very cool. Thanks for the news Stu. And great books!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,844 other followers

