lets go with the flow to rome

TITLE  PORTRAIT OF MOTHER AS A YOUNG WOMEN BY FREDRICH CHRISTIAN DELIUS

SOURCE – REVIEW COPY SENT BY MEIKE THE PUBLISHER

A book about a mother walking to a show its the war ,its rome .Oh Roma the films three coins in a fountain ,the one where she puts the hand in the mouth oh what is that film called  it escapes me ,must get a coffee and carry on reading,oh music she’s off to see ,I always wish I knew more about classic music it always seems an alien world to me oh kassell spent many a happy day they years ago ,worries of her husband ,marriage so important ,think how good it is I met my Amanda ,wonder what I would do in a war situation ,brief encounter ,imagine a black and white film and a teary farewell on a platform Amanda would really worry if i was a the frontline not that it will ever happen ,how did people get on be separate for so long   ,remember the photo of my grandfather in his tank from  the newspapers that was italy ,he and gran spent many holidays there ,who is this Delius man who wrote this ,grab another coffee and biscuit choose to fire up the laptop wiki him read some piece translated from german ,interesting life ,seems to have written book as ode to his own mother ,what a touching gesture ,back to thew book comma comma ,, we move through the wonderful Rome ,oh I wish I could go the spanish steps ,why are they called that ? oh on laptop again oh built by a french man to the old spanish embassy ,SPQR always wonder what that meant too  ,more music must try to listen to some of these composers etc mentioned ,make a playlist maybe oh that be a good idea ,will go back and note people and listen .oh shes arrived that was an amazing journey and just a short walk in reality  ,she’s  ending writing a letter to her beloved ,oh I wish I could write letters,like people used to ,a dying art and one I’ve never known how to do apart from family letters .

These are my thought as I wrote and felt them what actions I did the evening I read portrait of the mother as a young man by Fredrich Christian Delius ,I love this book it has a simple flow and ebb it is like being stuck on a boat drifting down a stream on a dreamy afternoon you enter the head of a young women so completely .Another triumph from  Meike and peirene press .

I ve chosen this style of review as a tribute to the book and my sad effort at stream of conciousness ,If you want a better example read this book .

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amymckie
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 12:18:16

    What a great way to do your review Stu!!! Works with the book brilliantly. I love it!

    Reply

  2. Tom C
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 07:08:25

    Interesting stream of consciousness – you had a busy day! The book obviously was a constant theme throughout – its good isn’t it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,329 other followers

